Skip to content

Farewell Andy

November 14, 2010

I was participating in the Andy Irons paddle-out at Huntington Beach so it was kind of hard to take pictures. I have to say it was one of the coolest things I’ve ever done, and it was my 1st paddle-out.  I’ll always remember Andy for many reasons. First and foremost because he was the 1st pro surfer I’ve ever met and was certainly one of the nicest. He’s also my favorite. I just loved watching him surf.

The day was just beautiful for Andy. As we paddled pass the pier and try to get into position to hold hands, the view I had of the beach, the people on the pier and all of us in the water really struck me. I couldn’t believe how many people showed up. It’s amazing how one life can touch so many people.

Video of the Pinetrees paddle-out from ASL: http://surfinglife.com.au/news/asl-news/5724-ai-laid-to-rest-never-to-be-forgotten

Here are some pics I’ve found…

Pinetrees via @ZakNoyle

 

Overhead shot at Pine Trees in Hawaii for AI

 

Estimated 3,000 people were in the paddle out at Pine Trees

View of the Huntington Beach Paddle-out from the Surfline Cam

Southside of Huntington Beach pier via @Nonemaker

Check out this video clip of the Huntington Beach Paddle out www.facebook.com/billabongxxl

Photos from Surfer Mag http://blogs.surfermag.com/office-blog/huntington-paddles-out-for-andy-irons/

http://blogs.surfermag.com/office-blog/kauais-final-farewell-to-andy-irons/

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers

